Please log in or register. Registered visitors get fewer ads.
Forum index | Previous Thread | Next thread
Dale rule out Flickers, put faith in Beech... 10:36 - Jan 11 with 6715 viewsRochblue

Not surprising really...

http://menmedia.co.uk/manchestereveningnews/sport/football/rochdale/s/1470288_da
Dale rule out Flickers, put faith in Beech... on 16:33 - Jan 13 with 1289 viewsAtThePeake

Dale rule out Flickers, put faith in Beech... on 16:13 - Jan 13 by fitzochris

I did a degree in journalism and then got the NCTJ Certificate, which is a necessity for getting into local press. I then got my NCE Certificate.

I don't have a sports specific qualification (there wasn't one when I was training about 12 years ago, although I believe there is one now).

After doing work at local papers and news agencies, I was lucky enough to be offered a job as deputy sports editor on a regional daily paper in Scotland after a trial. My qualifications told them I was a competent journalist, but they obviously wanted to test my sporting knowledge out, hence the trial.

I then put the graft in and was nominated for Sports News Writer of the Year at the Scottish Press Awards in 2007. This gave me a door into the nationals and I ended up doing loads of stuff for them.

I was offered full time work with no contract - so declined. Ironically, my full-time job now has nothing to do with sport, although I still do the odd game for the nationals now and again.

Ta mate.

I'm doing my NCTJ's next January, so hopefully those, combined with the degree and the experience of the job with Socanalysis will help me along

Tangled up in blue.

Dale rule out Flickers, put faith in Beech... on 16:40 - Jan 13 with 1272 viewsfitzochris

Dale rule out Flickers, put faith in Beech... on 16:33 - Jan 13 by AtThePeake

Ta mate.

I'm doing my NCTJ's next January, so hopefully those, combined with the degree and the experience of the job with Socanalysis will help me along